Tel: 01256 322691

E-mail: enquiries@aldworth.hants.sch.uk

    Years 10 and 11

     Miss E Smith - Years 10 and 11 Leader

    A Message from Miss Smith

    Key Stage 4 is a crucial time for all students; our aim is to support them in this important journey and ensure they leave Aldworth with results that they are proud of.

    Support and guidance is offered to each individual student as staff work as a cohesive team to ensure students are happy, safe and achieving their full potential.  From extracurricular activities to one to one mentoring, students are encouraged to grow and develop not only academically but as confident young adults ready for the adventure awaiting them, post-secondary school.

    As Year Leader for Years 10 and 11 I am responsible for all aspects of their journey, from pastoral support to academic progress. Students are able to approach me with any concerns and I am always willing to help.

    I work closely with the Key Stage 4 tutors to ensure the following happens:

    • A consistent approach to all aspects of school life
    • Inspire students to do their best
    • Track the academic progress of each individual student
    • Provide intervention where required

    As senior students within the school, 90 prefects in Year 11 work alongside staff and students to ensure that students’ attitude, behaviour and uniform are of the highest standard. This is turn helps support the school’s ethos: Respect, Endeavour, Achieve.

    Key Dates are:

    Year 10
    Year 11

    Autumn Term 2017

    • First day of the Autumn Term - Tuesday 5 September
    • Year 10 Parents Information Evening – Tuesday 26 September 6.00pm (tbc)
    • Open Evening: School early closure – Wednesday 20 September 12.40pm
    • Year 10 student photos – Monday 2 October 9.00am
    • Year 10 Parents Evening – Thursday 19 October 3.30 - 7.30pm
    • Year 10 Interim Reviews to parents – Friday 8 December
    • INSET day (school closed) - Friday 15 December 2016
    • Last day of Autumn Term: School early closure – Thursday 21 December 12.40pm

    Autumn Term 2017

    • First day of the Autumn Term - Tuesday 5 September
    • Open Evening: School early closure – Wednesday 20 September 12.40pm
    • Year 11 Autumn Exams – Monday 2 October (2 week duration)
    • Year 11 student and tutor group photos – Monday 13 November 9.00am
    • Year 11 Interim Reviews to parents – Friday 24 November
    • Year 11 Parents Evening – Thursday 7 December 3.30 - 7.30pm
    • INSET day (school closed) - Friday 15 December 2016
    • Last day of Autumn Term: School early closure – Thursday 21 December 12.40pm

    Spring Term 2018

    • INSET day (school closed) – Thursday 4 January
    • INSET day (school closed) - Friday 5 January
    • Review Evening – Thursday 18 January (by appointment only)
    • Mock Interview Day – Tuesday 20 March
    • Year 10 Interim Reviews to parents – Thursday 29 March

    Spring Term 2018

    • INSET day (school closed) – Thursday 4 January
    • INSET day (school closed) - Friday 5 January
    • Pre-public Exams – Monday 15 January (3 week duration)
    • Review Evening – Thursday 18 January (by appointment only)
    • Pre-public Results Day – Thursday 1 March
    • Year 11 Interim Reviews to parents – Friday 16 March

    Summer Term 2018

    • Year 10 Parents Evening – Thursday 19 April 3.30 - 7.30pm
    • Year 10 Mock Exams - Monday 30 April (3 week duration)
    • Mock Results Day – Thursday 14 June
    • Year 10 Interim Reviews to parents – Thursday 28 June
    • Sports Day Part 1 (High Jump and Track Cycling) - Tuesday 3 July
    • Sports Day Part 2 (all other events) - Tuesday 10 July
    • Activities Day - Friday 13 July
    • Last day of Summer Term: School early closure – Friday 20 July 12.40
    • INSET day (school closed) – Monday 23 July

    Summer Term 2018

    • Year 11 Group photo – Monday 26 March 2.30pm
    • GCSE Season starts – Monday 14 May
    • End of GCSE Season - Friday 22 June
    • Leavers Ball – Thursday 28 June (tbc)