Tel: 01256 322691

E-mail: enquiries@aldworth.hants.sch.uk

    Years 10 and 11

     Miss E Smith - Years 10 and 11 Leader

    A Message from Miss Smith

    Key Stage 4 is a crucial time for all students; our aim is to support them in this important journey and ensure they leave Aldworth with results that they are proud of.

    Support and guidance is offered to each individual student as staff work as a cohesive team to ensure students are happy, safe and achieving their full potential.  From extracurricular activities to one to one mentoring, students are encouraged to grow and develop not only academically but as confident young adults ready for the adventure awaiting them, post-secondary school.

    As Year Leader for Years 10 and 11 I am responsible for all aspects of their journey, from pastoral support to academic progress. Students are able to approach me with any concerns and I am always willing to help.

    I work closely with the Key Stage 4 tutors to ensure the following happens:

    • A consistent approach to all aspects of school life
    • Inspire students to do their best
    • Track the academic progress of each individual student
    • Provide intervention where required

    As senior students within the school, 90 prefects in Year 11 work alongside staff and students to ensure that students’ attitude, behaviour and uniform are of the highest standard. This is turn helps support the school’s ethos: Respect, Endeavour, Achieve.

    Key Dates are:

    Year 10
    Year 11

    Autumn Term 2018

    • First day of the Autumn Term - Tuesday 4 September
    • Open evening: School early closure - Wednesday 19 September 12.40pm
    • Year 10 Parents Information Evening – Tuesday 25 September 6.00pm
    • Year 10 student photos – Monday 1 October 
    • INSET day - Friday 5 October
    • Year 10 Parents Evening – Thursday 18 October 3.30 - 7.30pm
    • Year 10 Interim Reviews to parents – Friday 7 December
    • Last day of Autumn Term: School early closure – Thursday 20 December 12.40pm
    • INSET day (School closed) - Friday 21 December

    Autumn Term 2018

    • First day of the Autumn Term - Tuesday 4 September
    • Open Evening: School early closure – Wednesday 19 September 12.40pm
    • INSET day - Friday 5 October
    • Year 11 Autumn Exams – Monday 8 October (2 week duration)
    • Year 11 student and tutor group photos – Monday 12 November 
    • Year 11 GCSE Art controlled test (Group 1) - Thursday 22 November
    • Year 11 GCSE Art controlled test (Group 2) - Friday 23 November
    • Year 11 Interim Reviews to parents – Friday 30 November
    • Year 11 Parents Evening – Thursday 6 December 3.30 - 7.30pm
    • Lat day of Autumn Term: School early closure - Thursday 20 December 12.40pm
    • INSET day (school closed) - Friday 21 December

    Spring Term 2018

    • First day of term - Monday 7 January 2019
    • Review Evening – Thursday 17 January (by appointment only)
    • BCOT Open evening - Monday 11 February 4.30-7pm
    • School Production - Tuesday 12 February 7pm
    • School Production Wednesday 13 February 7pm
    • School Production - Thursday 14 February 7pm
    • Macbeth Theatre trip - Thursday 28 February 4.45 to 11pm approx.
    • BCOT Apprenticeship recruitment fair - Monday 11 March 4.30-7pm
    • Year 10 Interim Reviews to parents – Thursday 4 April
    • Last day of Spring Term - Normal hours - Friday 5 April

    Spring Term 2018

    • First day of term - Monday 7 January 2019
    • Review Evening - Thursday 17 January (by appointment only)
    • Pre-public Exams – Monday 21 January (3 week duration)
    • BCOT Open evening - Monday 11 February 4.30-7pm
    • School Production - Tuesday 12 February 7pm
    • School Production Wednesday 13 February 7pm
    • Trip to "Doctors Show"- Thursday 14 February
    • School Production -Thursday 14 February 7pm
    • Pre-public Art exam group 1- Tuesday 26 February
    • Doctors trip - Tuesday 26 February 12 to 5.30pm approx
    • Pre-public Art exam group 2 - Wednesday 27 February
    • Yr 11 Pre-public Results to students – Thursday 7 March
    • BCOT Apprenticeship Recruitment fair - Monday 11 March 4.30-7pm
    • Year 11 Interim Reviews to parents – Friday 22 March
    • Yr 11 Group Photo - Monday 25 March
    • Yr 11 Music Coursework exam - Wednesday 27 March all day
    • Yr 11 Music GCSE coursework exam - Wednesday 3 April all day
    • Last day of Spring Term - Normal hours - Friday 5 April
     
    Summer Term 2019
    • Bank Holiday Monday -  22 April
    • First day of Summer Term - Tuesday 23 April
    • Year 10 Parents Evening – Wednesday 24 April 3.30 - 7.30pm
    • QMC Open Evening - Thursday 25 April 5.30-8.30pm
    • Year 10 Mock Exams - Monday 29 April (3 week duration)
    • Italy trip - Thursday 2 to Sunday 5 May
    • Bank holiday - Monday 6 May
    • Yr 10 GCSE Drama devised exam - Wednesday 22 May 7-10pm
    • Yr 10 GCSE Drama devised exam - Thursday 23 May 7-10pm
    • Yr 10 GCSE Drama devised exam - Friday 24 May 7-10pm 
    • Year 10 Interim Reviews to parents – Thursday 27 June
    • Sports Day Part 1 (High Jump and Cycling) - Tuesday 2 July
    • Sports Day Part 2 (all other events) - Tuesday 9 July
    • Yr 10 Art Exam Group 1 - Wednesday 10 July all day
    • Aldworth's Got Talent Semi-finals - Wednesday 10 July 7pm
    • Yr 10 Art Exam Group 2 - Thursday 11 July all day
    • Activities Day - Friday 12 July
    • Last day of Summer Term: School early closure – Friday 19 July 12.40
    • INSET day (school closed) – Monday 22 July
    • INSET day (school closed) - Tuesdat 23 July

    Summer Term 2019

    • Bank Holiday Monday - 22 April
    • First day of Summer Term - Tuesday 23 April
    • Yr 11 GCSE Art exam Group 1 - Tuesday 23 April All day
    • Yr 11 GCSE Art exam Group 1 - Wednesday 24 April All day
    • Yr 11 GCSE Art exam Group 2 - Thursday 25 April All day
    • QMC Open evening - Thursday 25 April 5.30-8.30pm
    • Yr 11 GCSE Art exam Group 2 - Friday 26 April All day
    • Bank holiday - Monday 6 May
    • GCSE Season starts – Monday 13 May
    • End of GCSE Season - Wednesday 19 June
    • Leavers Ball – Thursday 27 June