Skip to content ↓

BTEC Health and Social Care

Health and Social Care is offered as a BTEC Qualification to give a full GCSE at grade C and above. It allows students to explore, develop and apply knowledge and skills within the context of the health, education, social care and young people’s services.
Possible range of organisations and sectors involved
Health Care
Social Care
Higher Education/Careers progression
NHS Primary Care Trust which includes clinics
Care homes
Youth Offending Teams
Day centres
Probation Service
Private care providers
Assessment & support centres
Voluntary providers - hospices
Housing association
Early Years/Play Work
Community Safety
Social Work
Allied Health Professions
Units of study covered:
Year of study
Unit topic
Assessment type
Year 10
Component 1 – Human Lifespan Development
36 GLH
Component 2 – Health & Social Care Services & Values
36 GLH
Year 11
Component 3  – Health & Wellbeing
48 GLH
Jan/May Exam
*Guided Learning Hours (GLH) 
There are two internally assessed components which will be completed throughout Year 10. Students will be required to complete specific tasks to produce a portfolio of coursework to show their understanding of the key topics covered.
In Year 11, students will predominantly be studying the topics that will make up their exam which will be sat in January. Students will also have the option of sitting it a second and final time in May.
The BTEC Award is delivered in such a way that students get to experience real life events and situations within the health and social care sector, such as visiting care homes and nurseries. Students then base their work on studies they have been a part of outside of the school setting.
For more detailed curriculum information see the document below.